Academic Staff

The School of BioSciences has many academic with significant expertise and experience working on global issues.

If you know who you are looking for, please search for them by name or research topic. Results will appear in our Find an Expert system.

Head of School

Name Email Phone Location
Burgman, Prof. Mark markab@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 8344 7151 Rm NPG08A, BioSciences 3 Building

A

Name Email Phone Location
Abraham, Dr. Gad gad.abraham@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90358633 Rm 243, Alan Gilbert Building
Andrianopoulos, Associate Prof. Alex alex.a@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445164 Rm 2.11, BioSciences 5 Building

B

Name Email Phone Location
Bacic, Prof. Tony abacic@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445041
Balding, Prof. David dbalding@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443730 Rm G42, Building 184 (Old Microbiology)
Batterham, Prof. Philip p.batterham@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445065 Rm 406, Bio21 Building
Bayly, Dr. Michael mbayly@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445055 Rm NP101, BioSciences 3 Building
Beahan, Ms. Cherie cheriew@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444261 Rm 306, BioSciences 2 Building
Bernard, Dr. Pascal pascal.bernard@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356112 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Bland, Ms. Lucie l.bland@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443121
Bode, Dr. Michael bodem@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443332 Rm 114, BioSciences 2 Building
Bonneau, Mr. Julien julien.bonneau@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447463 Rm NP121, BioSciences 3 Building
Boughton, Dr. Berin baboug@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445070 Rm G24, BioSciences 1 Building
Boyce, Dr. Kylie kboyce@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446236 Rm 2.18A, BioSciences 5 Building
Briscoe, Dr. Natalie nbriscoe@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443339 Rm 116, BioSciences 2 Building
Brovedani, Miss Krista krista.brovedani@unimelb.edu.au
Bugeja, Dr. Hayley h.bugeja@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90358782 Rm 218A, BioSciences 5 Building
Burgman, Prof. Mark markab@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447151 Rm NPG08A, BioSciences 3 Building
Butera, Ms. Rosemary rbutera@unimelb.edu.au
Byers, Dr. Sean sean.byars@unimelb.edu.au

C

Name Email Phone Location
Carew, Dr. Melissa mecarew@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442522 Rm 105, Bio21 Building
Carey, Dr. Janet janetmc@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443336 Rm G08B, BioSciences 3 Building
Catford, Dr. Jane catfordj@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445422 Rm 207, BioSciences 2 Building
Chee, Dr. Yung En yechee@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356476 BioSciences 3 Building
Constable, Dr. Sally s.constable@unimelb.edu.au
Cousens, Prof. Roger rcousens@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83449749 Rm 3.53, BioSciences 5 Building
Cozijnsen, Mr. Anton a.cozijnsen@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445053 Rm 212, BioSciences 2 Building
Crawford, Dr. Simon sacraw@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445047 Rm 137, BioSciences 2 Building

D

Name Email Phone Location
Davis, Associate Prof. Meryl m.davis@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445161 Rm 1.04, BioSciences 5 Building
Day, Associate Prof. Robert r.day@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446262 Rm 254, BioSciences 4 Building
Day, Prof. Karen
Dempster, Dr. Tim dempster@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90353454 Rm 255, BioSciences 4 Building
Digby, Dr. Matthew mdigby@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446249 Rm 356, BioSciences 4 Building
Doblin,Dr. Monika msdoblin@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83449845 Rm 220, BioSciences 2 Building
Downing, Dr. Trisha tld@unimelb.edu.au
Drinnan, Dr. Andrew a.drinnan@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445252 Rm NP102, BioSciences 3 Building
Duffy, Dr Michael mduffy@unimelb.edu.au

E

Name Email Phone Location
Ebert, Dr. Berit berit.ebert@unimelb.edu.au
Elgar, Prof. Mark m.elgar@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 33844339 Rm 247, BioSciences 4 Building
Elith, Dr. Jane j.elith@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444572 Rm G09, BioSciences 3 Building
Elliot, Dr. Candace ce@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445039 Rm 217, BioSciences 2 Building
Endersby, Dr. Nancy nancye@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442281 Rm 266, Bio21 Building

F

Name Email Phone Location
Familari, Dr. Mary m.familari@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445069 Rm 353, BioSciences 4 Building
Fearnley, Dr. Liam liam.fearnley@unimelb.edu.au
Fernando, Dr. Shyama shyama.fernando@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445578 Rm BN119, BioSciences 1 Building
Fidler, Associate Prof. Fiona fidlerfm@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 9035 6315 BioSciences 3
Ford, Dr. John jford@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447986 Rm G031, BioSciences 4
Ford, Mrs. Kristina kferg@unimelb.edu.au
Fournier-Level, Dr. Alexandre alexandre.fournier@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442347 Rm 265, Bio21 Building
Frankenberg, Dr. Stephen srfr@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444343 Rm 357, BioSciences 4

G

Name Email Phone Location
Gardner, Prof. David david.gardner@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446251 Rnm 242, BioSciences 4 Building
Gleeson, Associate Prof. Dawn d.gleeson@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444765 Rm 1.07, BioSciences 5 Building
Golz, Dr. John jgolz@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83449877 Rm R.13, BioSciences 5 Building
Goodger, Dr. Jason jgoodger@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447165 Rm BN120, BioSciences 1 Building
Goodman, Dr. Dean deang@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445053 Rm 213, BioSciences 2 Building
Green, Dr. Mark mark.green@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444346 Rm 354, BioSciences 4 Building
Griffin, Dr. Philippa griffinp@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442348 Bio21 Building
Guillera-Arroita, Dr. Gurutzeta gurutzeta.guillera@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90357522 Rm 112, BioSciences 2 Building

H

Name Email Phone Location
Hale, Dr. Robin robin.hale@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356112 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Hall, Dr. Michelle hall.m@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446245 Rm 358, BioSciences 4 Building
Handasyde, Dr. Kathrine kathrine@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444357 Rm 355, BioSciences 4 Building
Hanea, Dr. Anca anca.hanea@unimelb.edu.au
Hardy, Mr. Stephen stephenh@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446274 Rm 2.02, BioSciences 5 Building
Harvey, Dr. Alexandra ajharvey@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356503
Hassell, Dr. Kathryn khassell@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356112 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Hauser, Dr. Cindy chauser@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443201 Rm 208, BioSciences 2 Building
Haydon, Dr. Mike m.haydon@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446232 Rm 106, BioSciences 5 Building
Heard, Dr. Geoffrey heardg@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90357522
Heazlewood, Dr. Joshua joshua.heazlewood@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442677 Rm BN117, BioSciences 1 Building
Hipsley, Dr. Christy christy.hipsley@unimelb.edu.au
Hoffmann, Prof. Ary ary@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442282 Rm 263, Bio21 Building
Hollings, Dr. Tracey tracey.hollings@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83440071 Rm 07B, Biosciences 3
Holman, Dr. Luke luke.holman@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445857
Hopkins, Dr. Gareth gareth.hopkins@unimelb.edu.au
Hughes, Dr. Nelika nelika.hughes@unimelb.edu.au
Humphries, Dr. John john.humphries@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444261 Rm 306, BioSciences 2 Building

I

Name Email Phone Location
Idnurm, Dr. Alexander alexander.idnurm@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442221 Rm 218, BioSciences 2 Building
Inouye, Assoc. Prof. Michael minouye@unimelb.edu.au

J

Name Email Phone Location
Jackson, Mr. Christopher jackson.c@unimelb.edu.au
Jarrad, Dr. Frith frith.jarrad@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90358369 Rm NPG09, BioSciences 3 Building
Jenkins, Prof. Gregory gjenkins@unimelb.edu.au Rm G05, BioSciences 4 Building
Johnson, Dr. Alexander johnsa@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443969 Rm 122, BioSciences 3 Building
Johnson, Dr. Kim kim.johnson@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444261
Jones, Dr. Theresa theresa@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446232 Rm 352, BioSciences 4 Building
Jusuf, Dr. Patricia patricia.jusuf@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83449519 Level 3, Room: Rm12, Biosciences 5 Building

K

Name Email Phone Location
Kearney, Dr. Michael m.kearney@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444864 Rm 248, BioSciences 4 Building
Kellar, Dr. Claudette ckellar@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83448004 Rm 129, BioSciences 4 Building
Kelly, Dr. Luke ltkelly@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90357519 Rm 114, BioSciences 2 Building
Keough, Prof. Michael mjkeough@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445130 Rm 253, BioSciences 4 Building
Kujala, Dr. Heini heini.kujala@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442883 Rm 114, BioSciences 2 Building

L

Name Email Phone Location
Lahoz-Monfort, Dr. Jose jose.lahoz@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90358291 Rm 117, BioSciences 2 Building
Lampugnani, Dr. Edwin edwin.lampugnani@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442496 Rm 221C, BioSciences 2 Building
Lane, Mr. Stephen lane.s@unimelb.edu.au
Leahey, Dr. Sarah s.leahey@unimelb.edu.au
Lee, Dr. Siu ronaldl@unimelb.edu.au
Lentini, Dr. Pia pia.lentini@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359500 Rm 208, BioSciences 2 Building
Leo, Dr. Chen chen.leo@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444356 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Leslie, Assoc. Prof Stephen stephen.leslie@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83440441
Llewelyn, Dr. John john.llewelyn@unimelb.edu.au
Long, Dr. Sara hoskins@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442522 Bio21 Building
Longmore, Mr. Andrew andrew.longmore@unimelb.edu.au +61 4 12397453 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Lupton, Miss Michelle mllupton@unimelb.edu.au
Lutz, Dr. Adrian adrian.lutz@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443318 Rm BNG24, BioSciences 1 Building

M

Name Email Phone
Macmahon, Mr. Daniel macmahon@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90356448 Rm 256, BioSciences 4 Building
Maino, Dr. James james.maino@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443710 Rm 1.06, Cesar Building
Martin, Assoc. Prof. Jon j.martin@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446258 Rm B02, BioSciences 5 Building
Martin, Dr. Jennifer j.martin1@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444853 Rm 361, BioSciences 4 Building
Mattiske, Dr. Deidre deidre.mattiske@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83448004 Rm 123, BioSciences 4 Building
McCarthy, Prof. Michael mamcca@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446856 Rm 115, BioSciences 2 Building
McDonald, Dr. Gary gmcd@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442523
McFadden, Prof. Geoffrey g.mcfadden@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 93444272 Rm 211, BioSciences 2 Building
McFarlane, Dr. Heather heather.mcfarlane@unimelb.edu.au
McLean, Dr. Claire mcleanca@unimelb.edu.au
McRae, Dr. Melissa melissa.mcrae@unimelb.edu.au
Mesgaran, Dr. Mohsen mohsenm@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90358276 Rm L1.14, 221 Bouverie Street
Mollard, Ms. Vanessa vpas@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445053 Rm 212, BioSciences 2 Building
Moore, Dr. Alana moa@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443337
Moreno Moyano, Ms. Laura laura.moreno@unimelb.edu.au
Morrongiello, Dr. John john.morrongiello@unimelb.edu.au Rm 220, BioSciences 5 Building
Mulder, Prof. Raoul r.mulder@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446245 Rm G018, BioSciences 4 Building
Murray, Dr. Michael murraym@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447139 Rm 09, BioSciences 5 Building
Myers, Dr. Jackie jhmyers@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359112 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building

N

Name Email Phone Location
Natera, Dr. Siria s.natera@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359889 Rm BN116, BioSciences 1 Building
Newbigin, Associate Prof. Edward edwardjn@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444871 Rm 303, BioSciences 2 Building

O

Name Email Phone Location
O'Brien, Dr. Allyson allyson@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359112 Rm G31, BioSciences 4 Building
O’Neill, Ms. Lynette oneilllm@unimelb.edu.au

P

Name Email Phone Location
Parry, Professor Laura ljparry@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444379 Rm 351, BioSciences 4 Building
Pask, Associate Prof. Andrew a.pask@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90354310 Rm 362, BioSciences 4 Building
Perry, Dr. Trent trentp@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442362 Rm 405, Bio21 Building
Persson, Dr.Staffan staffan.persson@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90353637 Rm BNG03, BioSciences 1 Building
Pettigrove, Dr. Vincent vpet@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442524 Rm G17, BioSciences 4 Building
Phillips, Dr. Benjamin phillipsb@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90354861 Rm 249, BioSciences 4 Building
Pohl, Dr. Sebastian sebastian.pohl@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444845 Rm 257, BioSciences 4 Building
Popa, Ms. Kerryn popa.k@unimelb.edu.au

R

Name Email Phone Location
Rasic, Dr. Gordana gordana.rasic@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90355237 Rm 266, Bio21 Building
Ratnayake, Dr. Sunil s.ratnayake@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83449847 Rm 301, BioSciences 2 Building
Routengarten, Dr. Carsten carsten.rautengarten@unimelb.edu.au
Raven, Dr. Lesley-Ann lesley-ann.raven@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445867 Rm W728, Medical Building
Renfree, Prof. Marilyn m.renfree@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444376 Rm 108, BioSciences 4 Building
Robin, Dr. Charles crobin@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442349 Rm 267, Bio21 Building
Robinson, Dr. Andrew apro@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446410 Rm BN117, BioSciences 1 Building
Roessner, Associate Prof. Ute u.roessner@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90353635 Rm BN121, BioSciences 1 Building
Rumpff, Dr. Elizabeth lrumpff@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83448091 Rm 207, BioSciences 2 Building
Rupasinghe, Dr. Thusitha tru@unimelb.edu.au

S

Name Email Phone Location
Salo, Dr. Lauren lauren.salo@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447040 Rm 347, BioSciences 4 Building
Sanchez-Palacios, Dr. Jose jsanchez@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442503 Rm NP123, BioSciences 3 Building
Schneider, Dr. Rene rene.schneider@unimelb.edu.au
Schuster, Dr. Tanja tanja.schuster@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447150 Rm NP103, BioSciences 3 Building
Sharley, Dr. David dsharley@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446242 Rm G31, BioSciences 4 Building
Shaw, Prof. Geoffrey g.shaw@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446267 Rm 359, BioSciences 4 Building
Skroblin, Dr. Anja anja.skroblin@unimelb.edu.au
Southwell, Mr. Darren southwell.d@unimelb.edu.au
Teo, Dr. Shu Mei shu.teo@unimelb.edu.au
Stuart-Fox, Dr. Devi d.stuart-fox@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444846 Rm 252, BioSciences 4 Building
Swearer, Associate Prof. Stephen s.swearer@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446253 Rm 250, BioSciences 4 Building

T

Name Email Phone Location
Thompson, Dr. Ian i.thompson@unimelb.edu.au
Tiedje, Dr. Kathryn kathryn.tiedje@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 383442377
Tingley, Dr. Reid reid.tingley@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443323 Rm 112, BioSciences 2 Building
Townsend, Dr. Kallie tok@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83444850 Rm 256, BioSciences 4 Building
Treml, Dr. Eric eric.treml@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446251 Rm 242, BioSciences 4 Building

U

Name Email Phone Location
Umina, Dr. Paul pumina@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442522 Rm 105, Bio21 Building

V

Name Email Phone Location
Van De Meene, Dr. Allison allison.van@unimelb.edu.au Rm 301, BioSciences 2 Building
Van De Wouw, Dr. Angela apvdw2@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83445039 Rm 217, BioSciences 2 Building
Van Oppen, Prof. Madeleine madeleine.van@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83448286 Rm 205 Biosciences 2
Verbruggen, Dr. Heroen heroen.verbruggen@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359993 Rm 104 BioSciences 3
Vesk, Associate Prof. Peter pvesk@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447480 Rm 110, BioSciences 2 Building

W

Name Email Phone Location
Wang, Ms. Yujie amwatt@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 90359112 Rm G031, BioSciences 4 Building
Watt, Dr. Andrea amwatt@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83448084 BioSciences 2 Building
Weeks, Dr. Andrew aweeks@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 93298817 CESAR House
White, Ms. Vanessa vlwhite@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442348 Rm 264, Bio21 Building
Wintle, Associate Prof. Brendan b.wintle@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83443306 Rm 119, BioSciences 2 Building
Woodrow, Prof. Ian i.woodrow@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83447503 Rm BN128, BioSciences 1 Building

Y

Name Email Phone Location
Yu, Dr. Hongshi hongshiy@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83446251 Rm 242, BioSciences 4 Building

Z

Name Email Phone Location
Zeng, Dr. Wei zengw@unimelb.edu.au +61 3 83442496 Rm 221C, BioSciences 2 Building