Research Groups

The School of BioSciences aims to be a leading international research centre. Each research area is filled with world-class experts addressing topics such as conservation and climate change, evolution and behaviour, genetics and development, marine biology or plant biodiversity. You can explore research topics below and contact our academics directly if you're interested.

Name Research topic Email address
Andrianopoulos, Prof. Alex Microbial and developmental genetics alex.a@unimelb.edu.au
Balding, Prof. David Statistical genomics / MIG david.balding@unimelb.edu.au
Batterham, Prof. Phil Neurogenetics, behaviour and systems biology in insects p.batterham@unimelb.edu.au
Bayly, Dr Mike Systematics and biogeography mbayly@unimelb.edu.au
Birch, Dr Jo Herbarium / Systematics and biogeographyjoanne.birch@unimelb.edu.au
Blackall, Prof. Linda Microbial communities and ecology linda.blackall@unimelb.edu.au
Carey, Dr Jan Marine ecology and environmental management janetmc@unimelb.edu.au
Cousens, Prof. Roger Invasive plant population biology rcousens@unimelb.edu.au
Day, A/Prof. Robert Fisheries ecology and aquaculture r.day@unimelb.edu.au
de Rozario, Dr Richard Analytical reasoningrichard.derozario@unimelb.edu.au
Dempster, Dr Tim Sustainable aquaculture dempster@unimelb.edu.au
Drinnan, A/Prof. Andrew Plant systematics a.drinnan@unimelb.edu.au
Duffy, Dr Michael Malaria pathogenesis and nuclear biology mduffy@unimelb.edu.au
Ebert, Dr Berit Cell wall biosynthesis berit.ebert@unimelb.edu.au
Elgar, Prof. Mark Evolutionary biology of organismal diversity m.elgar@unimelb.edu.au
Elith, A/Prof. Jane Species distribution modelling / CEED j.elith@unimelb.edu.au
Familari, Dr Mary Developmental biology m.familari@unimelb.edu.au
Fidler, A/Prof. Fiona Conservation science fidlerfm@unimelb.edu.au
Fournier-Level, Dr Alex Adaptive evolution alexandre.fournier@unimelb.edu.au
Gallego Romero, Dr Irene Human evolution, genomics and stem cells / MIG irene.gallego@unimelb.edu.au
Gardner, Prof. David Reproductive biology and assisted conception david.gardner@unimelb.edu.au
Golz, Dr John Plant developmental genetics jgolz@unimelb.edu.au
Green, Dr Mark Reproductive technologies mark.green@unimelb.edu.au
Guillera-Arroita, Dr Gurutzeta Quantitative ecology gurutzeta.guillera@unimelb.edu.au
Handasyde, Dr Kath Wildlife ecology, management and disease kathrine@unimelb.edu.au
Haydon, Dr Mike Plant cell signalling m.haydon@unimelb.edu.au
Heazlewood, A/Prof. Joshua Plant biochemistry and glycomics jheazlewood@unimelb.edu.au
Hipsley, Dr Christy Reptile paleontology and evolution christy.hipsley@unimelb.edu.au
Hoffman, Prof. Ary Pest and environmental adaptation ary@unimelb.edu.au
Holman, Dr Luke Evolution and genetics of sex luke.holman@unimelb.edu.au
Idnurm, Dr Alex Mycology alexander.idnurm@unimelb.edu.au
Jenkins, Prof. Greg Aquatic ecology, fisheries biology and management gjenkins@unimelb.edu.au
Johnson, A/Prof. Alex Plant nutrition johnsa@unimelb.edu.au
Jones, Dr Theresa Urban light lab theresa@unimelb.edu.au
Jusuf, Dr Patricia Neural development and regeneration patricia.jusuf@unimelb.edu.au
Kearney, Dr Michael Climatic and metabolic ecology m.kearney@unimelb.edu.au
Keough, Prof. Mick Temperate marine ecology / CAPIM mjkeough@unimelb.edu.au
Kompas, Prof. Tom Economics of biosecurity / CEBRA tom.kompas@unimelb.edu.au
Lahoz-Monfort, Dr José Ecological modelling jose.lahoz@unimelb.edu.au
Leslie, A/Prof. Stephen Statistical genetics stephen.leslie@unimelb.edu.au
Martin, A/Prof. Jon Phylogeny and evolution of chironomid midges j.martin@unimelb.edu.au
McCarthy, Prof. Mick Ecology for better environmental decisions / CEED mamcca@unimelb.edu.au
McFadden, Prof. Geoff Malaria and endosymbiosis g.mcfadden@unimelb.edu.au
Medina Guzman, Dr IlianaBehavioural ecology and macroevolutioniliana.medina@unimelb.edu.au
Morrongiello, Dr John Marine and freshwater ecology and evolution john.morrongiello@unimelb.edu.au
Mulder, Prof. Raoul Evolutionary ecology of birds r.mulder@unimelb.edu.au
Murray, Dr Mike Developmental genetics of drosophila murray.m@unimelb.edu.au
Newbigin, A/Prof. Ed Pollen biology edwardjn@unimelb.edu.au
Pask, A/Prof. Andrew Evolution, development and reproduction a.pask@unimelb.edu.au
Perry, Dr. TrentMolecular Genetics of Insect Controltrentp@unimelb.edu.au
Persson, Prof Staffan Plant cell biology staffan.persson@unimelb.edu.au
Phillips, Dr Ben Spatial ecology and evolution phillipsb@unimelb.edu.au
Renfree, Prof Marilyn Reproduction and development m.renfree@unimelb.edu.au
Robin, Dr Charles Insect population genetics and molecular evolution crobin@unimelb.edu.au
Robinson, A/Prof. Andrew Risk analysis in biosecurity / CEBRA apro@unimelb.edu.au
Robinson, Dr Nicholas Aquaculture genetics robinson.n1@unimelb.edu.au
Roessner, Prof. Ute Plant biochemistry u.roessner@unimelb.edu.au
Rumpff, Dr Libby Structured decision-making lrumpff@unimelb.edu.au
Somssich, Dr MarcThe cell wall in plant immunitymarc.somssich@unimelb.edu.au
Strain, Dr Elisabeth Marine ecology beth.strain@unimelb.edu.au
Stuart-Fox, A/Prof. Devi Animal behaviour and evolution d.stuart-fox@unimelb.edu.au
Swearer, Prof. Steve Ecology and evolution of fishes / CAPIM s.swearer@unimelb.edu.au
van Gelder, A/Prof. Tim Analytical reasoningt.gelder@unimelb.edu.au
van Oppen, Prof. Madeleine Microbial symbiosis and bioengineering in corals madeleine.van@unimelb.edu.au
Verbruggen, A/Prof. Heroen Algal biology and coral environmental microbiologyheroen.verbruggen@unimelb.edu.au
Vesk, A/Prof. Peter Vegetation ecology and management / CEED pvesk@unimelb.edu.au
Wintle, Prof. Brendan Conservation ecology / CEED b.wintle@unimelb.edu.au
Woodrow, Prof. Ian Plant physiology i.woodrow@unimelb.edu.au