Research Groups

The School of BioSciences aims to be a leading international research centre. Each research area is filled with world-class experts addressing topics such as conservation and climate change, evolution and behaviour, genetics and development, marine biology or plant biodiversity. You can explore research topics below and contact our academics directly if you're interested.

Name Research topic Email address
Andrianopoulos, Prof. Alex Microbial and developmental genetics alex.a@unimelb.edu.au
Baxter, Dr Simon Biology of insect pestssimon.baxter@unimelb.edu.au
Bayly, Dr Mike Systematics and biogeography mbayly@unimelb.edu.au
Birch, Dr Jo Herbarium / Systematics and biogeographyjoanne.birch@unimelb.edu.au
Blackall, Prof. Linda Microbial communities and ecology linda.blackall@unimelb.edu.au
Day, A/Prof. Robert Fisheries ecology and aquaculture r.day@unimelb.edu.au
de Rozario, Dr Richard Analytical reasoningrichard.derozario@unimelb.edu.au
Dempster, Prof. Tim Sustainable aquaculture dempster@unimelb.edu.au
Drinnan, A/Prof. Andrew Plant systematics a.drinnan@unimelb.edu.au
Ebert, Dr Berit Cell wall biosynthesis berit.ebert@unimelb.edu.au
Elgar, Prof. Mark Evolutionary biology of organismal diversity m.elgar@unimelb.edu.au
Fournier-Level, Dr Alex Adaptive evolution alexandre.fournier@unimelb.edu.au
Gallego Romero, Dr Irene Human evolution, genomics and stem cells / MIG irene.gallego@unimelb.edu.au
Gardner, Prof. David Reproductive biology and assisted conception david.gardner@unimelb.edu.au
Golz, Dr John Plant developmental genetics jgolz@unimelb.edu.au
Green, A/Prof. Mark Reproductive technologies mark.green@unimelb.edu.au
Haydon, Dr Mike Plant cell signalling m.haydon@unimelb.edu.au
Heazlewood, A/Prof. Joshua Plant biochemistry and glycomics jheazlewood@unimelb.edu.au
Hoffman, Prof. Ary Pest and environmental adaptation ary@unimelb.edu.au
Idnurm, Dr Alex Mycology alexander.idnurm@unimelb.edu.au
Jenkins, Prof. Greg Aquatic ecology, fisheries biology and management gjenkins@unimelb.edu.au
Johnson, A/Prof. Alex Plant nutrition johnsa@unimelb.edu.au
Jones, A/Prof. Theresa Urban light lab theresa@unimelb.edu.au
Jusuf, Dr Patricia Neural development and regeneration patricia.jusuf@unimelb.edu.au
Kearney, Prof. Michael Climatic and metabolic ecology m.kearney@unimelb.edu.au
Kompas, Prof. Tom Economics of biosecurity / CEBRA tom.kompas@unimelb.edu.au
Leslie, Prof. Stephen Statistical genetics stephen.leslie@unimelb.edu.au
McFadden, Prof. Geoff Malaria and endosymbiosis g.mcfadden@unimelb.edu.au
Medina Guzman, Dr Iliana Behavioural ecology and macroevolutioniliana.medina@unimelb.edu.au
Morris, Dr Rebecca Coastal and estuarine adaptationrebecca.morris@unimelb.edu.au
Morrongiello, Dr John Marine and freshwater ecology and evolution john.morrongiello@unimelb.edu.au
Mulder, Prof. Raoul Evolutionary ecology of birds r.mulder@unimelb.edu.au
Murray, Dr Mike Developmental genetics of drosophila murraym@unimelb.edu.au
O'Bryan, Prof. Moira Male infertility and germ cell biology / IMIGCmoira.obryan@unimelb.edu.au
Pask, Prof. Andrew Evolution, development and reproduction a.pask@unimelb.edu.au
Perry, Dr. Trent Molecular Genetics of Insect Controltrentp@unimelb.edu.au
Persson, Prof Staffan Plant cell biology staffan.persson@unimelb.edu.au
Phillips, A/Prof. Ben Spatial ecology and evolution phillipsb@unimelb.edu.au
Reichman, A/Prof. Suzie Centre for Anthropogenic Pollution Impact and Management (CAPIM)suzie.reichman@unimelb.edu.au
Renfree, Prof Marilyn Reproduction and development m.renfree@unimelb.edu.au
Robin, Dr Charles Insect population genetics and molecular evolution crobin@unimelb.edu.au
Robinson, Prof. Andrew Risk analysis in biosecurity / CEBRA apro@unimelb.edu.au
Robinson, Dr Nicholas Aquaculture genetics robinson.n1@unimelb.edu.au
Roessner, Prof. Ute Plant biochemistry u.roessner@unimelb.edu.au
Somssich, Dr Marc The cell wall in plant immunitymarc.somssich@unimelb.edu.au
Stuart-Fox, Prof. Devi Animal behaviour and evolution d.stuart-fox@unimelb.edu.au
Stumpf, Prof. Michael Theoretical systems biologymstumpf@unimelb.edu.au
Swearer, Prof. Steve Ecology and evolution of fishes / CAPIM s.swearer@unimelb.edu.au
van de Meene, Dr Allison Biological microscopyallison.van@unimelb.edu.au
van Gelder, A/Prof. Tim Analytical reasoningt.gelder@unimelb.edu.au
van Heerwaarden, Dr Belinda Climate change adaptionbelinda.vanheerwaarden@unimelb.edu.au
van Oppen, Prof. Madeleine Microbial symbiosis and bioengineering in corals madeleine.van@unimelb.edu.au
Verbruggen, A/Prof. Heroen Algal biology and coral environmental microbiologyheroen.verbruggen@unimelb.edu.au
Watt, Prof. Michelle Crop root physiologywatt.m@unimelb.edu.au